top of page

Candi's Critters

Chronicles

Search

Candi's Critters History


I was born and raised in Lubbock, TX. I graduated from Monterey High School in 2005 and eventually got my bachelors degree from Texas Tech in 2012. After graduation, I began my career as a high school English teacher. Around three years ago, I started using my holidays and summers off to help friends and family with their pets while they traveled. I discovered that animals sparked a passion in me that I wanted to pursue.


After about a year of pet sitting for friends and family, I decided to put an actual name on my business and "Creeacher's Pet Sitting Service" was born. I worked under that name for around a year. In November of 2017, I went through a difficult time in my life and left the teaching profession. Then, sadly, in February of 2018 my husband and I split, so I needed to rename my business since my last name was going to change. After some deliberation, "Candi's Critters Pet Care" was born. I went through some soul searching and I began putting in a lot more time into finding new clients and expanding my business. As much as I would like to only run my pet sitting business, the income is just too sporadic to make a steady income, so in March of 2018, I started working at Texas Tech University as a financial aid advisor.


Since I also have a full time job along with my pet sitting, I hired a former student of mine to help out. She was phenomenal, but she found a full time job and started college. I was sad to see her go, but so proud of the steps she was making towards her future. So now, I have two part-time employees and I hope you will take the time to read about them. One is a good friend and the other is another former student of mine. We all have different availability, so we can take bookings for all times throughout the day.


This brings us to today. I am so happy and I cannot wait to see where this business takes me. My end goal is to have a pet sitting location that offers drop-in visits, on-site care, grooming, training, and is a small rescue. Currently my house looks like a small rescue on a regular basis. Fostering is another love of my life and I almost always have a foster through the South Plains SPCA.


Candi's Critters just wants to provide you with a peace of mind when you are away. I hope reading about me and how my business started will help with that.




31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page